Visualizing Digital Preservation Workflows

Visualizing Digital Preservation Workflows by Bill LeFurgy

Yesterday I had the pleasure of presenting Steps in a Digital Preservation Workflow as part of the American Library Association/Association for Library Collections and Technical Services Online Learning program.  I talked about planning and building a staged process for preserving digital information in a cultural heritage context.

Part of what I covered relates to ideas connected with a dynamic digital life cycle, and I used some of the same diagrams presented in my earlier post, Life Cycle Models for Digital Stewardship. I said that digital life cycle models and workflows are closely related concepts.  The life cycle is basically a higher level view of what a workflow depicts.  Both illustrate how digital information comes under stewardship control and is kept useful and available over time.

In this post, I’ll show some of the workflow visualizations I used in my presentation.

Source: The Signal

This entry was posted in Digital News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

