Monthly Archives: September 2012

Help Define Levels for Digital Preservation: Request for Public Comments

Help Define Levels for Digital Preservation: Request for Public Comments  Over the last few months a team of librarians, archivists, curators, engineers and other technologists in the NDSA have been working to draft a simple chart to help prioritize digital preservation … Continue reading

Posted in Digital News | Leave a comment

Digital Preservation: Swatting the Long Tail of Digital Media: A Call for Collaboration

Digital Preservation: Swatting the Long Tail of Digital Media: A Call for Collaboration  OCLC Research has released Swatting the Long Tail of Digital Media: A Call for Collaboration.  Here’s an excerpt: It is difficult to do much with digital media … Continue reading

Posted in Digital News | Leave a comment

Digital Curation and the Cloud Final Report

Digital Curation and the Cloud Final Report  JISC have just published a report on Digital Curation and the Cloud: http://www.jisc.ac.uk  This report provides an informative read in particular Section 4 – Cloud Issues for Curation.  The report was first drafted in March … Continue reading

Posted in Digital News | Leave a comment

From the Digital Dark Ages to a Digital Renaissance

From the Digital Dark Ages to a Digital Renaissance: The Art of Selecting Digital Content to Preserve   All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time. This webinar focuses … Continue reading

Posted in Digital News | Leave a comment

EU Funding for Digital Preservation research in public institutions

EU Funding for Digital Preservation research in public institutions  On 18 September, the European Commission will open ICT Call 11, inviting amongst others proposals in the field digital preservation. The Call closing date is 16 April 2013. This time, the … Continue reading

Posted in Digital News | Leave a comment

Comparing digital preservation approaches

Comparing digital preservation approaches, part 3, conclusion – #ICA_2012 (7C)  Following up on my first and second posts on different digital preservation approaches among Australasian and the UK archives, let’s see if some general conclusions can be drawn with regard … Continue reading

Posted in Digital News | Leave a comment

East German Stasi audio archive exposes haunting legacy

East German Stasi audio archive exposes haunting legacy  It left behind a haunting legacy which is still emerging today, as German archivists uses technological wizardry – and huge human patience – to uncover what Stasi officers tried to destroy after … Continue reading

Posted in Archive News | Leave a comment