Google Reader is closing down: Alternatives to replace it

20 Alternatives to Google Reader 

So the really big news yesterday, outstripping that of a new Pope is the news that Google is Powering Down Google Reader, which for many people is a total disaster. Google’s hypocrisy is taken to entirely new heights in their post on the matter; they say “We know Reader has a devoted following who will be very sad to see it go. We’re sad too.” No, what they really mean is ‘we don’t care’. This is the usual typical stance that Google takes – a regretful ‘but there’s nothing we can do about it’. They are citing the decreased use of the product as the reason for closure, but if they’d wanted to I am absolutely sure that they could have done something to stop that decrease – there was some integration into G+ but they could have done a great deal more. I also love the line “as a company we’re pouring all of our energy into fewer products. We think that kind of focus will make for a better user experience.” Tell me, how are self drive cars going to make my user experience better? At least be honest enough to say that ‘we’re pouring our energy into products that make more money for us’ because that’s the real bottom line. Google Reader doesn’t bring in the eyeballs on adverts, so it’s got to go. It really IS that simple.

 Even more (33) Google Reader alternatives 

The other day I gave you 20 alternatives to Google Reader. Now I’m giving you a whole bunch more that I’ve found. I haven’t tried the vast majority of them, so can’t vouch for them, but I’ll be sure to tell you what I think! (Note: since I’m going to probably be referring to ‘Google Reader’ quite a lot, I’m shortening it to GR for the sake of my sanity and fingers)

Source: Phil Bradley’s Web Log

This entry was posted in Search News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

