The Film Prayer

In clearing out 41 years of work related documents and clutter I came across this prayer for the handling of film. It was in a bunch of training documents from 1998 but I think it is worth sharing.

 The Film Prayer

 I am a film not steel, O user have mercy. I front dangers whenever I travel the whirling wheels of Mechanism. Over the sprocket wheels held tight by idlers, I am forced by the motors magic might. If a careless hand misthreads me I have alternative but to go to my death. If the pull on the take up reel is too violent I am torn to shreds. If dirt collects in the aperture, my film of beauty is streaked and marred and I must face my beholders a thing ashamed and bespoiled. Please, if I break never fasten me with pins which lacerate the fingers of my inspectors.

 travel many miles in tin cans. I am tossed on heavy trucks, sideways and upside down. Please see that my first few coils do not slip loose in my shipping case and become bruised and wounded beyond power to heal. Put me in my own can and scrape off all old labels on my shipping case so I will not go astray.

 Speed me on my way, others are waiting to see me. The next day is the last day I should be held. Have a heart for the other fellow who is waiting and for my owner who will get the blame.

I am a delicate ribbon of film. Misuse me and I disappoint thousands, cherish me and I delight and instruct the world.

 Crawley Films Ltd

Ottawa – Toronto – Montreal

This entry was posted in Archive News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

